Martha Argerich,
Mischa Maisky

Palazzo Mauro De André | 08 June 2023 | at 9:00 PM

Martha Argerich piano
Mischa Maisky cello

Ludwig van Beethoven
Cello sonata in G minor No. 2, Op. 5

Claude Debussy
Cello sonata in D minor

Frédéric Chopin
Cello sonata in G minor, Op. 65

Still vibrant after more than 45 years, the formidable duo of Mischa Maisky and Martha Argerich is notable for its technical and expressive interplay, the direct musical consequences of fond personal friendship and instinctive compatibility. “Playing with him is the most natural thing in the world”, confesses the Argentinian pianist, who now tackles three sonatas for cello and piano spanning as many centuries: from Beethoven’s late XVIII-century Sonata no. 2 – a pioneering example of a genre that had no predecessors in Haydn or Mozart to one of the rare chamber works by Chopin, who wrote mainly for the piano, and finally to Debussy’s Sonata, another unique work with its nocturnal, almost lunar atmosphere, anticipating the XX century with harmonic colouring prevailing over design.

The Programme